#WritingTheInternet: my reflections

Throughout the past several months, I’ve expanded my understanding of what #WritingTheInternet means so much. Although I started this semester out as a blogger already, I learned a ton about this specific method, as well as about all of the other methods of online writing.

I started out feeling really passionate about how online writing allows the author to be more personal and authentic than academia does, and I enhanced my perspective on this through readings like Boyd’s from Week 11. Moreover, I learned so much about the value of Twitter for news-sharing, fact-checking, and staying engaged with current events whilst still setting social media boundaries.

I also now feel sobered about the potential of fake news and agenda-driven content to polarize people. I happened to watch The Social Dilemma during the semester, which also speaks on this topic, and was a great accompaniment to our unit on fake news. The Rolling Stone article on Russian Trolls, and the NYT feature about the future of the internet also really impacted me. I will be reading and learning a lot more about all these topics after finishing the class. Thank you so much for such a fascinating class. I enjoyed it so, so much.

As well, here is my #FutureOfWriting prediction video!

(It definitely auto-picked the most flattering thumbnail it could…)

Leave a comment